Sunday, September 13, 2009

Echoes by Nancy Campbell Allen

Genre: Fiction

Author Website:

One Word Review: Complicated (in a good way)

First Line: “When Adelaide Birmingham gave birth to two healthy twin boys on the 25th of December, she had no idea that before the old year was out and the new one on its way in, she’d be across several state lines with only one of her infants in tow.”

Synopsis: Jon Kiersey awakes in a hospital to one of the most beautiful women he has ever seen, and the news that his brain tumor is benign. Funny…he doesn’t remember having a tumor, and he has no idea who this woman is. As Jon tries to discover who he used to be and figure out his relationship with Paige O’Brian—the beautiful woman—people from his past emerge to remind him bit by bit who he was, what he escaped from, and what dangers lie ahead in the very near future.

Kathy’s Review: It had been a long time since I read this book and I was somewhat surprised when I started reading because I didn’t remember Jon’s story all that well. Poor Jon has had a very hard life and it doesn’t get better when he finds out he has a tumor. When he wakes up from surgery the tumor has been removed and he has lost his memory. This was an interesting aspect to the story. It really gave Jon the chance to look at his life with a little perspective and no guilt. He soon stumbles upon his true heritage and the true situation behind his childhood. I really enjoyed this novel. Paige is very likable; I could really feel her frustration with Jon and was hoping they would be able to figure a way to be together. It was good that they really had to work for what they had and I think it made them appreciate each other a whole lot more. This is the last book in the series, although each book could probably be read on its own. I recommend reading them in order though because certain characters do overlap throughout the books.

I have always been curious about the title of this one. The first three books all have “time” worked into their titles, this one does not. I sometimes like to think of it as “Echoes in Time” just for fun. =)

Reading Order:
Book One: Love Beyond Time
Book Two: No Time for Love
Book Three: A Time for the Heart
Book Four: Echoes

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking the time to comment, I appreciate hearing from you!

Blog Design by Imagination Designs
All images from the Beautiful Words kit by NewLifeDreams Designs and the Story Book Castle kit by Lorie Davison