Thursday, June 26, 2014

Summer Book Trek 2014 participated in this last year and had a great time, and even won a few books (which is always fun). New LDSFiction is hosting a challenge to read LDS authors during the month of July (you don’t have to be LDS to participate). They will be giving away prizes throughout the month as well. I never really paid that much attention to it before, but there are a lot of popular LDS authors out there. After last years Trek I even created a shelf on Goodreads devoted to LDS authors, I'm still adding to it and I've got over 100 so far. Below are my book choices for this year, it was hard to narrow it down and I'm sure I'll be updating it as I go.
Son of War, Daughter of Chaos by Janette Rallison
Werewolf Dreams by Katie O'Guinn
Werewolf Rage by Katie O'Guinn
Werewolf Revenge by Katie O'Guinn
Werewolf Betrayal by Katie O'Guinn
Hunted by Katie O'Guinn
Dreaming of Ivy by Shannon Guymon
On the Fence by Kasie West
The Husband Maker by Karey White
Uncovering Cobbogoth by Hannah Clark
Romance Anthology: Summer in New York
What Is Hidden by Lauren Skidmore
Sweet Confections by Danyelle Ferguson
Reese's Cowboy Kiss by Kimberly Krey
Becoming Lady Lockwood
Just One Wish by Janette Rallison
Persuaded by Misty Dawn Pulsipher
Accidentally Married by Victorine Lieske
Diamond Rings are Deadly Things by Rachelle Christensen 

Wednesday, June 11, 2014

Love & Trust Trilogy by Shannon Guymon

This series takes place in the same charming town of Fircrest, WA. Rob owns the Iron Skillet, where his sister Taryn is the manager. His youngest sister Bailey works for the local newspaper. They’ve all been burned in love and are slow to trust.

I really enjoyed this trilogy. It was fun seeing each character open themselves up to love and to find their perfect match. We met Rob in the previous series and it was fun to see him find his happily ever after in Come to Me. Bailey’s story was great, she had been seriously burned before and had closed herself off completely. It takes a really special and determined man to bring down her walls. Her love story was full of romance, tension and a sweet love story. The last book, Tough Love, is all about the humbling of Taryn. Her story is a bit of a roller coaster and she fights who she is meant to be with, but it just makes their ending all the more sweet. Overall, another great trilogy. I love the setting, characters and love stories.

Love & Dessert Trilogy by Shannon Guymon

Sisters Layla, Kit and Jane are reunited when their grandmother passes away, leaving her bakery to them. The sisters move home to Fircrest, WA to take over the store and to get a fresh start on life. Layla is a burned out social worker, having seen the worst men have to offer she has closed herself off from relationships. Kit recently caught her boyfriend with another woman feels the same way. Jane is a hopeless romantic and optimistic about finding true love. They decide that since they are reunited and starting a new business they will open their hearts and be open to finding love.
Everything isn’t as easy as it seems though, there are a few people out to make sure the girls don’t find success in love or in business.

I fell in love with this series right from the start. The first book, You Belong With Me, focuses mainly on Layla. She’s a no-nonsence lady who will do anything for her sisters. The next book, I Belong With You, focuses on middle sister Kit. I liked Kit, she is a talented artist and beautiful. It was fun to see her find someone who saw the real Kit. The last book, My Sweetheart, is about Jane. Jane was my favorite and I loved her story. She has a kind heart and likes to find the good in everyone. All three books have sweet romances and swoony leading men. There is a mystery that runs throughout the book and added some excitement to the stories. Overall, a really fun series.

Falling for Rayne by Shannon Guymon

Garrett Murphy is used to rejection. As a child, he was rejected by his mother and as a man he was rejected by Jane Kendall. Going without love has turned Garrett into a man who doesn't trust in a woman's heart. So when he meets Rayne Nyman, she's too good to be true. She's beautiful, talented and sweet. She also happens to be a world renowned pianist. He knows there's no way she'd ever want to stay in Fircest with him when she could be living the life she was born to. Rayne is determined to prove him wrong and show him that love can be forever but when she comes under fire and her life is put in danger, she might not have the chance.
Loved it! By far my favorite of the entire series. And isn't that cover gorgeous! We meet Garrett in the Love & Dessert and Love & Trust trilogies and I was so excited when I found out he would be getting his own book! Garrett has had it rough, especially when it comes to the women in his life. His mom skipped out on him when he was a little boy and it seems any woman who enters his life just leaves again. He's built up a wall around his heart and doesn't want to let anyone get too close. Rayne and her sister have moved to Fircrest to escape from their world and to hide out from a possible murderer. Their parents were killed in a suspicious car accident and until they have more answers they want to play things safe. Rayne has spent her entire life trying to please her parents, who have demanded perfection. She is a world famous pianist and unlucky in love. Garrett and Rayne have chemistry right from the start. I liked that they didn't let that get in their way of disagreeing with each other, they had some fun fights. Although they come from different backgrounds, they have a lot in common. They bring out the best in each other and were a great couple. I really loved their story! It was fun seeing characters from previous books (I especially liked the resolution between Tate and Garrett) and returning to the charming town of Fircrest. I also liked meeting new characters Ivy, Cleo, Beckett and Asher (I hope we see them again the next books).

Overall, it was a fun story, with a touch of mystery that keeps you on your toys. Loved it! Now I need to go read it again.

Romance: Clean
Violence: Mild
Blog Design by Imagination Designs
All images from the Beautiful Words kit by NewLifeDreams Designs and the Story Book Castle kit by Lorie Davison